Getting Warm

Oh the humanity! O, my daughters, O my ducats! Too much work, too few posts.

So, how are you doing? How has everyone been beating the summer heat? It’s been the hottest July in the United States since records have been kept. Sort of reminds me of the tombstone scribed with, “Now will you believe I’m sick?” It’s a fitting epitaph for believers who ironically refuse to believe what’s real.

I suppose it’s been relatively mild here when compared with a state such as Texas. Our nights are still cool enough to sleep though the next month will probably be less comfortable. In drought years, my Idaho has provided as much as 80% of the nation’s potatoes. But what happens when it gets a little hotter? Idaho is considered a desert, though there are times when that’s difficult to believe. We are having windstorms and threatening thunderstorms almost every night, but if any rain falls at all it’s barely enough to notice. And those storms are pretty unusual, too.

I remember one summer when it was about a hundred degrees every day for months. I don’t remember any rain during that time – just clear, blue skies and heat. I didn’t have much work that year and spent a lot of time out on the beach, just reading books. That was about twenty years ago, and a 100+ degree day is a rarity here, still.

But we have had some odd weather over the last few years that concerns me. Two years ago, we had an ice storm that brought down branches on many trees, causing damage and making the trees look scalped. I ran over a branch on a back road after that storm and blew out a brake line.

Global warming is a poor term. A better one would be global weirding. I’m hoping that we are overreacting to the phenomenon, but my hope and $2.00 might get you a cup of coffee – you can’t be sure anymore, even about that. Food costs in the U.S. are predicted to rise to percentages that are more in line with other countries, and it certainly seems as if they’ve been rising all along. It’s got to be tough on families whose incomes are lost or shrunken.

In the U.S., we might expect dust bowls, in Europe, perhaps an ice age. We can expect that areas used for raising food will often become useless as the global temperatures change, and that people in many areas will have to relocate because of flooding or failing economy. We’ve got the Steel Belt, where all the factories shut down and crippled the local economies, and now we may have the Sand Belt where farms once were and there’s nothing left but desert. Topsoil is a precious commodity, and it’s very easy to lose it.

Humanity is often surprising in its ability to survive. Maybe we’ll come up with a series of solutions, or maybe we’ll be too late to stave off the Endless Summer. We have never been all that concerned with our survival as a group – individually, we may bemoan our plight, but I think we all expect that someone will do what it takes to save us.  Humbug.

I’ve never been a great believer in the longevity of the human race. The universe isn’t likely to miss us when we’re gone, and the planet might recover itself from our meddling eventually. Intelligence seems overrated. Species that strive for intellect seem to carry with them the seeds of their own destruction. Buy stock in suntan lotion. And meanwhile, enjoy your day. Winter’s coming.

About herkblog

I'm an atheist. Although that's just a part of my life, I consider it to be important enough to me to be the main theme of this personal screed. I am self-employed in a service business and I live in Idaho, a place not known for its liberal qualities.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

