World with no Religion

Watching a video by atheist vlogger “crazypills” I realized that I didn’t agree with everything he said, and thought, hey, I’ve got a subject for another blog post.

He seemed to think that there is little evidence that a world with no religion may not be a better place, that there was no evidence for it. Well, I think there is evidence for it, such as it is. I know of no country completely untainted by religion, but many countries are more atheistic than others. We find that, overall, they have healthier societies, whether it be in the realm of working hours or sensible laws or health care. Yet, my own country, arguably the most religious country on earth of the Christian persuasion, has delusions of empire and constant attacks on any sensible laws that exist.

To my mind, there is no doubt that a lack of religion (or other ideological fervor) can only be an improvement to society. There is a pervasive myth that religions provide a lot of human services and charity that atheists do not, and it is often the case that religions do not always provide as much charity as their members think or that atheists often are more charitable than seems obvious. For example, atheists giving to charities can be masked by the religious nature of those charities. Many charities do not keep track of the beliefs or non-beliefs of their donors.

To my mind, the best of all possible worlds is one in which laws and societal norms obviate the need for charity, since the society is egalitarian enough to remove serious need or serious problems.

I can, however, think of one reason that at least some amount of religion should remain. In my book collections, I have a great many bad mystery stories. I keep them around to remind me how not to write. Religion seems to me to be the sort of thing that would be handy to have around, just to show us how not to behave.

About herkblog

I'm an atheist. Although that's just a part of my life, I consider it to be important enough to me to be the main theme of this personal screed. I am self-employed in a service business and I live in Idaho, a place not known for its liberal qualities.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to World with no Religion

  1. I would use the example of Scandinavia. These countries are almost completely secular, yet are some of the richest, most equal countries with the longest life expectancy and the largest aid budgets.

  2. Norma Manna Blum says:

    There is no doubt that having, or imagining, or being told that god is on our side, is likely to create a particularly overenthusiastic response to making war….
    You are certainly right that in that respect religion has served a less than benign set of national ambitions…we are suffering from the results of it right now, and they are ominous indeed.
    Are they more ominous as well as morally distasteful than the kind of nationalism that gripped Germany from the late 19th century until the devastation to their national ambitions by WWII?
    Are religion AND aberrant jingoism entwined?
    And what do you think accounts for our own mindless religious frenzy,the questionable leaders promulgating it, and the believers who offer themselves up like sheep as we play out what looks like an impending tragedy?
    NMB

    • herkblog says:

      I think it’s all entwined, Norma. I’ve always been uncomfortable with religion, sports, and politics because they all have the same mindsets, at least as I see it. We seem, in this country, to be running toward the abyss at breakneck speed and it isn’t a matter of something bad happening, it’s a matter of which thing or things.

      We need to emulate the UK and divest ourselves of empire before them becomes us. I don’t want to learn to speak Chinese. Well, I do, but I doubt I ever will. Shei Shei for the reply.

Leave a Reply

